Declaring the Politics Minor

Winter Quarter Declaration Deadline: February 10, 2023

To complete a minor in politics, students must take one lower-division politics course (numbered 1-79) and five upper-division politics courses.

Four upper-division core courses are to be selected from the core curriculum: two from one subfield and two from another subfield. The fifth upper-division course can be any upper division elective numbered 101-186. 

To declare the minor you will need to complete and print the Petition for Major/Minor Declaration and the UCSC Academic Planning form, and bring your completed forms to Merrill 27 during advising hours.