Politics Faculty

Kent Eaton
  • Title
    • Professor of Politics
  • Division Social Sciences Division
  • Department
    • Politics Department
  • Affiliations Merrill College, Latin American & Latino Studies, Research Center for the Americas, Environmental Studies Department
  • Phone
  • Email
  • Fax
  • Website
  • Office Location
    • Crown College Faculty Wing, 222
  • Office Hours Spring 2020: Wed 9-11 (see links above)
  • Mail Stop Merrill/Crown Faculty Services
  • Mailing Address
    • 1156 High Street
    • Santa Cruz CA 95064
  • Faculty Areas of Expertise Latin American and Latino Studies, Comparative Politics, Political Science, Politics
  • Courses Politics 60: Introduction to Comparative Politics, Politics 140c: Latin American Politics, Politics 144: Politics in the Andes, Politics 147: Territorial Conflict: Politics in Divided Societies, Politics 190v: States in the Global South, Politics 200c: Political Economy, Politics 243: Comparative Methods

Research Interests

Kent Eaton studies comparative politics, international relations, political institutions, and the political economy of development. Professor Eaton has conducted field research in Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, the Philippines, and Uruguay.

Focusing on subnational politics in Latin America, Prof. Eaton's research examines the growing salience of territorially-defined interests, identities, and institutions across the region. Current research projects include the formation of movements for territorial autonomy, the design and performance of federal institutions, and the causes and consequences of decentralization.

Biography, Education and Training

Stanford University, B.A. International Relations, 1990

Yale University, Ph.D. Political Science, 1998

Selected Publications